Late to the Party

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,
So I finally have a car…and it is amazing. After getting my license in either my junior or senior year (it was forever ago), riding my bike everywhere I absolutely had to go to, and breaking leg, I can finally drive everywhere. It is a 2005 Pontiac Sunfire and while it is old school in the sense that you have to manually roll up the windows and lock the doors, it luckily is not one of those piece of crap cars that apparently everyone gets as their first cars. I hate it when people assume your first car is crappy and they can’t just be happy that you don’t have to worry about getting hit by on coming traffic while riding on the shoulder of the road just to get to college. The only downside to having a car is that most of the time I’m not in my car, I want to be driving somewhere. Then the environmentalist part of me becomes paranoid about just how much fossil fuels I burn and all the CO2 emissions I produce. Someday I will by an electric car…
Anyways, I have yet to go on the freeway and almost not looking forward to that day. It feels like forever since I’ve been on one though. At least now I can go hang out with family and friends or go and get some quick pick-me-up drink from MCD or somewhere whenever I feel like it without having to be paranoid with it taking longer than 15 minutes to bike somewhere and to think about traffic. I really don’t see why my dad waited so long to take getting a car seriously, I mean its great not to show up to school or work all tired and sweaty. I finally get to listen to the radio switch between the A/C and heater whenever I feel like it just because I can. Not to mention, I don’t have to depend on other people for rides places, which is awesome. It is oddly peaceful to be alone in the car with just the radio. Now if only I can find a way to actually program those radio stations…
Leave a Reply

