Why study history?

Posted: September 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

Sharing History

I have always been interested in American History. As a kid, I loved reading stories about the past, visiting museums, and imagining what it must have been like to live in different times and places. In college, I thought I’d major in history because I’d be able to go on field trips, maybe dig up a few artifacts, read through dusty tomes in archives, and maybe even do some reenacting. I spun that inherent interest in to a successful undergrad career and yet, I never knew that history was my calling until I started reading about public history. Books like Michael Frisch’s A Shared Authority, David Thelen and Roy Rosenzweig’s Presence of the Past, and courses in museum practice made it clear to me that there was more to history as a profession than pursuing one’s interest in history to its own end.

Rather, to study and talk about…

View original post 674 more words

Leave a Reply

