Animal I Have Become

Posted: July 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

Help me believe it’s not the real me
Somebody help me tame this animal
This animal I have become…

Everyone struggles with something and they either cave in to its pressures or persevere to overcome the challenge. Certain things are short term, others are long term. One in particular has been going on for about 7 years now and I do not plan on letting it go to its 8th. I’ll try to be as generic as possible because I do not think it would be right or mature to be so blunt about it. As I have grown closer with God recently through devotionals, I have found that I can be happier longer without the constant thoughts and feelings. This whole idea that we need something that lasts for a short time to bring us plesure makes us ignorant fools for not seeing that our sole source of pleasure should be God’s forgiveness and grace. We,as Christians, need to cry out to Jesus and not to worldly pleasures. Lust makes us empty, but God makes us whole.

For help: Proverbs 3:5, 1 Peter 5:7, Isaiah 26:4, Philippians 4:4, John 3:16, & Matthew 9:6-8.

Leave a Reply

