Maybe mentally handicap, but not retarded

Posted: April 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

For the longest time, I used to think I was as normal as everyone else other than the way I acted or talked, but due to recent events, I have come to question just how “normal” I really am. I am aware that I have a slight speech problem and I can be socially awkward more than others, but that doesn’t mean I can’t succeed. I acknowledge that my family gene pool puts me at a high chance for some form of mental handicap, but I refuse to let that control or define who I am. To anyone who reads this, there’s no need to treat me or anyone else differently. If you’re my friend, stay my friend. If not, then that’s that. Either way, I refuse to be brought down by some label society uses to classify the value of worth someone is to the whole. With this revelation of sorts, I refuse to give up my fight to climb higher on the ladder of success. Lord Alfred Tennyson worded my goals in life the best…

“To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.”

Leave a Reply

